Search UniSA

School of

The School of Commerce forms part of the UniSA Business School and incorporates the disciplines of Accounting, Economics, Finance and Property.

We offer undergraduate majors in Accounting, Finance, Economics and Property, as well as postgraduate degrees in Accounting and Finance. Our programs are designed in consultation with our network of industry and professional partners, and are accredited by peak industry bodies including the Chartered Accountants of Australia and New Zealand (CAANZ), CPA Australia, Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) and the Australian Property Institute (API).

Our programs are recognised by the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Institute and are listed on the Australian Securities and Investment Commission’s Financial Planning Training Register.



Iress Trading Room

The UniSA Business School has the first simulated financial trading room in South Australia, enabling students, researchers and industry to engage with the global derivatives trading industry through market simulation programs.


Resource and Energy Economics

Researchers at the School of Commerce are interested in areas including trade, market efficiency and monetary policy, water governance and policy, environmental finance and sustainability accounting.


Academic staff

Name Position Area of expertise
Professor Lin Crase Head of School: Commerce Economics
Dr Rajabrata Banerjee Teaching and Learning Director: Accounting and International Business Economics
Dr Ron Donato Teaching and Learning Director: Economics, Finance and Property Economics
Associate Professor Tony Cavoli Postgraduate Program Director: Commerce Economics
Mr Stan Astachnowicz Program Director: Bachelor of Business Accounting
Dr Gerard Stone Program Director: Bachelor of Commerce Accounting
Professor Henning Bjornlund Research Professor in Water Policy & Management Economics
Professor Robert Elliott Research Professor Finance
Professor Jeff Connor Professor Economics
Professor Ian Goodwin-Smith Director: The Australian Alliance for Social Enterprise (TAASE) TAASE
Professor Christine Helliar Professor Accounting
Professor Chandra Krishnamurti Professor Finance
Professor Sumit Lodhia Professor  Accounting
Professor David Parker Professor Property
Professor Martin Shanahan Professor Economics
Professor Carol Tilt Professor Accounting
Associate Professor Kartick Gupta Associate Professor Finance
Associate Professor John Pisaniello Associate Research Professor Accounting, Law, Engineering
Associate Professor Glen Lehman Senior Research Fellow Accounting
Dr Bethany Cooper Senior Research Fellow Economics
Dr Selina Tually Senior Research Fellow TAASE
Dr Jonathon Louth Research Fellow TAASE
Dr Catherine Mackenzie Research Fellow TAASE
Dr Reza Bradrania Senior Lecturer Finance
Mr Scott Copeland Senior Lecturer Accounting
Dr Xin Deng Senior Lecturer Economics
Dr Kesten Green Senior Lecturer Economics
Mr Chris Kandunias Senior Lecturer Accounting
Dr Mei Lim Senior Lecturer Accounting
Dr Braam Lowies Senior Lecturer Property
Dr Zen Lu Senior Lecturer Economics
Ms Sue McGowan Senior Lecturer Accounting
Dr Ilke Onur Senior Lecturer Economics
Dr Wei Qian Senior Lecturer Accounting
Mr Peter Rossini Senior Lecturer Property
Dr Joanne Tingey-Holyoak Senior Lecturer Accounting
Dr Basil Tucker Senior Lecturer Accounting
Dr John Wilson Senior Lecturer Economics
Dr Lei Xu Senior Lecturer Finance
Dr Vandana Arya Lecturer Economics
Mr Philip Beaton Lecturer Property
Mr Dale Blackmore Lecturer Finance
Dr Amanda Carter Lecturer Accounting
Dr Hyunbum Cho Lecturer Property
Miss Shiao-Lan Chou Lecturer Finance
Dr Katherine Christ Lecturer Accounting
Dr John Christie Lecturer Finance
Dr Simon Cottrell Lecturer Financial Planning
Mr Phil Johnson Lecturer Accounting
Dr Amanpreet Kaur Lecturer Accounting
Dr Mansoor Khan Lecturer Accounting
Dr Sumin Kim Lecturer Property
Dr Sanjaya Kuruppu Lecturer Accounting
Dr Will Mackay Lecturer Accounting
Mr Ron McIver Lecturer Finance
Mr Nicolaas Oosthuizen Lecturer Property
Mr Geoffrey Pacecca Lecturer Financial Planning
Mrs Heather Prider Lecturer Accounting
Dr Kathy Rao Lecturer Accounting
Ms Saira Saqib Lecturer Accounting
Dr Elvia Sunityo-Shauki Lecturer Accounting
Dr Damien Wallace Lecturer Finance
Dr Rob Whait Lecturer Accounting
Dr Jessica Yi Lecturer Accounting
Dr Gordon Yuan Lecturer Finance
Dr Hao Zhou Lecturer Finance
Professor Petko Kalev Adjunct Professor Finance
Associate Professor Vikash Ramiah Adjunct Associate Professor Finance

Research students

Name Position Area of expertise
Clifford Afoakwah PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Laith Almaqableh Phd Research Student Finance
I Gusti Ary Suryawathy PhD Research Student Business and Management
Ammar Asbi PhD Research Student Finance
Subodh Dubey PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Yu He PhD Research Student Finance
Laura Hodgson PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Chris Kandunias PhD Research Student Accounting
Rahfiani Khairurizka PhD Research Student Accounting
Abdul Khan PhD Research Student Business and Management
Muhammad Khondaker PhD Research Student Accounting
Michael Kroehn PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Ana Manero Ruiz PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Admasu Maruta PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Fiona McKenzie PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Shane Middleton Masters by Research Student Accounting
Nisreen Moosa PhD Research Student Finance
Christine Mpundu-Kaambwa PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Jessica Porter PhD Research Student Business and Management
James Ramsay Masters by Research Student Accounting
Jason Scally PhD Research Student Finance
Safia Sultana Masters by Research Student Finance
Tri Tran PhD Research Student Applied Economics
Christa Viljoen PhD Research Student Business and Management
Julie Warnes PhD Research Student Business and Management
Shane Wise Masters by Research Student Accounting
James Young PhD Research Student Business and Management
Xi Yu PhD Research Student Finance
Zhihui Zhang PhD Research Student Finance
Ping Zhu PhD Research Student Accounting

Professional staff

Lis McKenzie School Manager
Liz Allan Academic Services Officer: Research
Ashleigh Campbell Senior Academic Services Officer
Megan Durand Academic Services Officer: Academic Integrity
Peter Edwards Clerical Officer: School Office
Rebecca Graves Academic Services Officer: Academic Integrity
Amira Keddeh Administrator: Materials
Ling Ly Team Leader: Academic Services
Doreen Michalski Clerical Officer: Executive Team Support
Robyn Mundy Academic Services Officer
Kathryn Pickering Project Officer
Neville Rankine Accountant
Annette Reinli-McMahon Academic Services Officer
Angela Slade Research Project Coordinator
Jodie Walsh Academic Services Officer